Travel Awards


5-6 Scholarships (500 USD each) will be awarded to IAA students attending to the IAA21st Symposium.

The Winners of the 5 IAA Student Travel awards are as follows:

1. Franziska Wendler – Germany

2. Marija Cvitanić – Croatia

3. Rhidian Thomas – UK

4. Diana Minardi – UK

5. Leyton Tierney – Australia


A private award by Japanese Funds managed by Dr Tadashi Kawai was award to Tobia Pretto (Italy).


The IAA Board has established a small program to support the travel of students to the IAA 21 Symposium in 2016. The purpose of the program is to encourage the participation of students who are IAA members at the meeting.  IAA members who are students are eligible no matter where they live.


Requirements and Limitations: 

The applicant must be a current IAA member in good standing. Students can be awarded as an undergraduate, M.S., or Ph.D student.  Applicants for the Awards must be planning to make an oral or poster presentation at IAA21 and must have submitted an abstract.


Application Materials:

One original copy of the complete application package must be received by mail by April 30, 2016.  Failure to meet the deadline or to follow instructions invalidates the application.

The following materials comprise a complete application package.

  • Abstract;
  • A statement of research goals and accomplishments by the applicant (one-sided, single-page maximum);
  • A supporting statement by the applicant’s research advisor (one-side, single-page maximum), including a description of the need for financial assistance.


Evaluation Procedures: 

Members of the IAA21 Student Travel Award Committee will evaluate and rank all applications.  The number of awards will be limited by available funds, and applicants will be ranked on the basis of the following criteria:

  • Completeness and timeliness of the application package;
  • Quality of the abstract;
  • Organization and presentation of applicant’s statement of goals and accomplishments;
  • Availability to volunteer at the Symposium.

If the number of highly meritorious applicants exceeds the available funds, selections will be made with the objective of maintaining equal discipline and geographic-based distribution.

Note:  All monetary stipends will be awarded at the Symposium.


To Submit:

ALL applications must be submitted by mail to Javier Diéguez-Uribeondo (  Applications submitted by FAX will NOT be accepted.  Completed application must arrive by May 25, 2016.


Student Travel Award Committee

  1. Ann L. Allert, U.S. Geological Survey, US
  2. James Furse, Griffith University, Australia
  3. Jim Stoekel, Auburn University US
  4. Trude Vrålstad, Norwegian Veterinary Institute, Norway
  5. Lennart Edsman, University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden
  6. Leopold Fureder, University of Innsbruck, Austria
  7. Quinton Bumham, Edith Cowan University, Australia
  8. Tadashi Kawaii, Wakkanai Fisheries Institute Japan

For more information please contact Javier Diéguez-Uribeondo (